We’re Expecting!…..a Teenager

So here’s the story.
Ever since Hubby and I were dating, we’ve talked about adopting “someday.” But when we had our first child, the thought got pushed into the background, replaced by the constant onslaught of diapers, sippy cups, and sleepless nights.

Last year, however, Hubby came to me and quietly asked, “What do you think about adopting…now?” My response was of course humble and gentle. “WHAT?” I snapped, “Are you crazy? Two little kids is enough right now. Why would you even ask me that?” But in spite of my response, what God laid on his heart was not to be denied, so he began praying (unbeknownst to me) that if this was truly what we were called to do, God would change my heart and align it with his.

Then last September, out of nowhere, I had this recurring, nagging thought that I needed to at least look into adopting. So I talked with friends who’d done it, researched online until my eyes burned…and prayed. After a few weeks I went to Hubby and said, “Uh, so…what do you think about adopting a teenager?”
With tear-strained voice he replied, “Funny–I’d been praying you would ask me that.”

We love teenagers. We enjoy spending time with them, we cherish their stage of life, the questions, the conversations, even the heartache of poor decisions made and regrets formed. And when we visited various websites and saw the great need for adopting older children through the foster care system, our hearts broke. Who will guide these kids as they begin making the tough decisions of adulthood? Who will fight alongside them as they face the challenges of growing up? And once they graduate high school, where will they return “home” for holidays? When they have kids of their own, who will they call “Grandma and Grandpa?”

We’ve done hours and hours of training and reading and talking and praying. We know there will be challenges. We are aware of the risks. And yet, we cannot deny God’s moving in our hearts and his calling on our lives. Will you pray with us as we enter this new stage of life? As the young Samuel said, “It is the Lord. Let him do what seems good to him.” (1 Sam. 3:18)

3 thoughts on “We’re Expecting!…..a Teenager

  1. YES!!!! God wins! love it!! so excited for you guys as you face this challenge and blessing. we will continue to pray for you. adoption is such a beautiful treasure. we are all adopted. co-heirs with Christ. you will join the Father as adoptive parents. what beauty. you bless us all by following Him in obedience.

  2. I couldn’t think of two greater people to love a teenager like you two. I know by knowing you that this child would be so bleesed by you both. I pray that God leads you in this new way through all the joys and challenges.

  3. This is such an amazing story about the power of prayer! I can’t stop telling it to people. It really proves that we don’t have control- but God does! I also want you to know that as your girl’s godmother, I really want to be involved in this young woman’s life- Matt and I will be praying!

Leave a Reply

