No ‘plainin’!

A Mom blog

Rae is a whiner. I’m not sure if it’s just her age or her personality or maybe a combination of the two, but there is no denyin’ the whinin‘. She whines about her shirt being inside out, whines about not having the right amount of toothpaste on her toothbrush, whines about getting her hair brushed, about being told no, and about being told to go potty….

The Lord convicted me that I am not doing my best to teach her not to whine. So I decided to work on memorizing Philippians 2:14 with her: “Do everything without grumbling or complaining.” Well, the other day I must have repeated this verse to her more than ten times. But she started whining about something else, so I began to dutifully recite, “Do everything without grumbling….” She interrupted me and said, “Or ‘plainin, Mom. I knooooow!” (with a trivial look of annoyance, of course.)

I’m finding that I’m being convicted about modeling this behavior in my own life! How many times I have found myself grumbling or ‘plainin’ (whether externally or internally) about the endless loads of laundry, the up-tee-nth diaper change, the lack of social interaction, lack of self-importance, or lack of intelligent conversation. I feel the difference in my heart when I remind myself who I am serving…”doing the will of God from the heart, serving as to the Lord and not to man” (Eph. 6:6).

I love what Chuck Swindoll says:

(Attitude) will make or break a company…a church…a home, or an individual. The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past…we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do it play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is ten percent what happens to me and ninety percent how I react to it.

We can choose to be content regardless of our circumstances or surroundings! I want my home to be filled with thankfulness and hearts of gratefulness…NOT whining and complaining! Lord, give me a thankful heart…

A Mother’s Thankful Heart

I come before You, Father
To thank You for this life
The blessings You have given me
As a mother and a wife

I’m thankful for my children
As I watch them grow and play
Knowing that each moment
Will live for just today

I’m thankful for the laundry
For the dust to wipe away
I’m thankful for the problems
That make me stop and pray

I’m thankful for my husband’s job
The roof above our heads
I’m thankful for our daily food
For the comfort of our beds

I’m thankful for the errands
The phone that always rings
I’m thankful for the tears we cry
For the joy that laughter brings

I’m thankful for our family’s love
The way we sit and talk
The simple games we often play
The picnics and the walks

I’m thankful for the little things
That make up every day
For therein lies Your love, Lord
And the wonder of Your ways

I’m thankful for the memories
That life has brought my way
I count it as Your blessing
To be a mother every day.

author unkown

4 thoughts on “No ‘plainin’!

  1. I needed that too. Thanks for the reminder to do “ALL” things without grumbling…especially the day to day household tasks that often get monotonous.

Leave a Reply

