Stop growing!!!

Sometimes, when my daughter looks at me, I swear I can see what she’s going to look like as a teenager.  The pouty lip, the attitude in the hips, the slight squint in her eyes that says, “I totally know more than you.”  And I fall in love with her all over again.

But a million questions fill my head…what WILL you be like as a teenager?  Will we be close?  Will you hate me for not letting you wear makeup till your 13?  Will you think my jeans are old-fashioned and my hair out-of-date?  Will you be embarrassed to hug me in front of your friends?  Will we have special dates together, just me and you….and more importantly, will you WANT to?  Will we talk about boys and love and God and faith?  Will I be worthy to have you as a daughter?

I cannot know the future.  Which is a good thing, I’m sure.  Because it forces me to take each day, moment by moment, relishing all the tantrums, giggles,  eye-rolling, and hand-holding.  And although I’m anxious to see what she will look like, act like, talk like, and think like, I can still take her in my arms every day and whisper into her hair, “O, my love….stay just the way you are and you’ll be just fine.”

3 thoughts on “Stop growing!!!

  1. She’ll be all grown up before you know it. Just keep taking each day moment to moment. You’ll probably have a time where you are the least important person in her life, but that will change. My girls are still my everything and they’re 21 and 17.

Leave a Reply

