My little relentless alarms

This morning I had fleeting sentiments of the days before children….

Ah, those whimsical day where if I stayed up late, I could sleep in, snuggle my husband, or push snooze on the alarm.   Where the sheets smelled of fresh linen instead of baby spit-up, and where sometimes my wake up call was simply the sun streaming through the window.

But with two little ones, those days are now just passing memories.  I’m awakened every day, Sunday through Saturday by 6am  (7 is now considered sleeping in).  My little relentless alarms.  No more weekends, no more lazy vacation days.  Either my baby girl is crying to be fed, or my almost 3 yr old is wearing her little plastic heels clip, clop, clip, clop all over her wooden floors, singing at the top of her voice “HOW MUCH IS THAT DOGGIE IN THE WINDOW…”

And some mornings, when I wish I could roll over and go back to the sweet dream I was having about splurge shopping, I force myself to think of those days before children…not the beautiful sleep I did have, but the things I didn’t have.   Things like early morning giggles, or warm little bodies to hug, or the smell of Honey Nut Cheerios with bananas.   And I’m reminded that there really is no better way to greet the morning than with a loud, “MOMMY! I AWAKE!”

2 thoughts on “My little relentless alarms

Leave a Reply

